Awards Gala Celebrates Winnipeg’s Best

The Culinary Federation Winnipeg held its annual presidents awards gala to a sold out crowd on April 12 , 2024 at the RBC Convention Centre in Winnipeg.  The evening was a chance for our culinary community to celebrate the accomplishments of the Chefs of Winnipeg. The evening opened with appetizer stations and bubbly to the sounds of classical chamber music.

A sumptuous dinner was prepared by the kitchen under Executive Chef Melissa Makarenko and the brigade at the convention centre.  In the crowd were the best of Winnipeg’s Culinary community who came out to celebrate with Winnipeg Branch President Peter Ecker.

During the evening awards were made to members of the branch who were outstanding over the past year. This years recipient of Associate of the year was presented to Binner Marketing. This years recipient of the Young Chef Member of the year is Chef Sergei Didenko of Winnipeg Hockey For All who has been instrumental in working with the executive and young chefs.  This years recipient of Chef of the year is Chef Scott Hyndman who is our local vice president and who works for Pratt’s Food Service.

A great thank-you to the Royal Bank Convention Centre and our event sponsors for making this event a great success. We also wish to thank the students and teachers from Tec Voc High School , Maples Collegiate and Sturgeon Creek Regional Secondary school for the preparation of the delicious appetizer stations.


Executive Chef Melissa Makarenko presented a fantastic dinner.


Young Chef of the Year Sergei Didenko.

Chef of the Year Scott Hyndman

Associates of the year, Binner Marketing’s Bonnie Mularchuk and Natalie Sample.