Highliner Wild Fries Contest

High Liner Culinary wants to hear from you!

Create a menu application using their new Alaskan Pollock Fries
using either the Dill Pickle or Salt & Pepper (or both!)
and the winning entry will receive $250!

*Contest Details: Get your Wild Alaskan Pollock Fries from your favorite FS Distributor or Binner Marketing & Sales. Envision your menu application and assemble your ingredients. Plate your creation, cost it out and submit your photo to Bonnie Mularchuk at bonniem@binnermarketing.com by April 30, 2021. Contest entries will be reviewed by the High Liner Culinary Team and the winner will be announced at the next CCF Meeting on May 12, 2021.
*Winner will receive a $250 Gift Card of their choice

Presidents Awards Dinner

Culinary Federation Winnipeg held its annual Presidents Awards Dinner on March 14 at the RBC Convention Centre. Executive Chef Quentin Harty created the fantastic menu for the dinner featuring the products of branch associate members.  

Reception stations were provided by Students and Young Chefs from the branch. Thank- you to Chefs Raymond Czayka of Kildonan East Collegiate, Chef Andy Ormiston of Lord Selkirk Comprehensive School and CF Winnipeg Young Chefs led by President  Ian Shapira and mentored by Chef Jesse Freisen of the Merchant Kitchen who put the food stations together.  

 The highlight of the evening was the award for Chef of the Year, which went to Chef Donald Pattie. Young Chef of the Year was given to Argie Garcia. Sysco was recognized as Associate of the Year and the award was accepted by Chef Peter Ecker. Lifetime Associate memberships were given to Grant Avery of Pratt’s and to Arthur and Bernie Gunn of Gunn’s Bakery. A special award was given to Jan Schweitzer for her many years of volunteering to support the events of CF Winnipeg.

Grant Avery receives Lifetime Associate award from MC Jeremy Langeman
Arthur Gunn receives Lifetime Associate Award from President Paul Lemire
Chef Peter Ecker accepts Associate of the Year award for Sysco
Jan Schweitzer is recognized for her years of volunteering at CF Events.
Past winners of Chef of the Year
Chef of the year past winners.

Chef Jesse Friesen Returns to the Canadian Culinary Championships

Congratulations to Chef Jesse Friesen of Merchant Kitchen and Pizzeria Gusto  for his showing at the Great Canadian Kitchen Party held in Winnipeg on November eighth. Chef Jesse will move on the the Canadian Culinary Championships in Kelona B.C. in February of 2019. It was a busy week for Chef Jesse who awed Red River Colleges School of Hospitality and Culinary Arts Homecoming dinner  the night before with his Sake Cured Trout. Winnipeg is a true treasure chest of culinary talent and Jesse is one of our shining stars. Bravo Chef!


Sysco hosts local culinary treasures.

Chef Peter Ecker and the food service team hosted the June meeting of CCF Winnipeg at Sysco’s modern facility. Ten local suppliers showed the chefs why Manitoba is a leader in new and innovative products. Each supplier provided information on their products and chefs were then given the opportunity to see the products being used in new and creative ways. Thanks to Chef Peter, Dannys Whole Hog, Gorp Energy Bars, Saputo , Bones and Marrow, Canadian Birch, Tropi Gelato, , Floating Leaf Wild Rice, Canadian Birch and Smack Dab mustard.


Chef Donald Pattie CCC inducted in Canadian Culinary Federation Honor Society

Chef Donald Pattie CCC was inducted into the CCF Honor Society at the annual Honor Society Dinner at Holland College, in Charlottown P.E.I. as part of the national convention held this weekend. Chef Pattie is recognized for his many accomplishments in the field of pastry art and technology. His work has included many fine pieces on the national and international stage as well as being the mentor for hundreds of bakers, patisserie and culinary artists. Congratulations Chef Donald.


Lifetime Memberships Celebrated

On May 9, 2018 the Winnipeg Branch of the CCF and Pratt’s held a dinner meeting to honor the accomplishments and to present lifetime memberships to Chef Takashi Murakami and Associate Werner Saxler of City Bread. We were there to recognize the years that these individuals have contributed to Winnipeg’s Culinary Community. A wonderful reception of food and drink greeted the members as they arrived at the elegantly decorated Bistro. Pratt’s Corporate Chef Ferdinand Catalan followed up the hot and cold appetizers with a three course dinner.

Lifetime Associate Gaspar Scholtz presented the Associate Lifetime Membership award to Werner Saxler of City Bread and spoke of Werner’s dedication and endeavours to further the association and the industry.

Chef John Reimers presented the Chef Lifetime Membership to Chef Takashi Murakami and spoke of his many accomplishments including the order of Canada. Chef Hans Schweitzer presided over the evening and also shared some memories from the long career of Chef Murakami.

Grant Avery and Gord Harris of Pratt’s presented a memento to Chef Murakami and expressed the sentiments of the gathering in once again congratulating the Chefs long and illustrious career.

Earlier in the evening there was a short presentation from Lorey Appelle from Arctic Coop to inform us of existing employment opportunities for hospitality professionals in the far north.


Culinary Milestone Honored

On April 5 2018 , Red River College held a luncheon to honor one of Winnipeg’s greatest Chefs, Nick Marchak,

At the luncheon Nick presented his 1976 Gold Olympic medal to the college. Nick Marchak was the first  Canadian born Chef to earn the gold medal for Canada at the world culinary olympics. . Red River College has gladly excepted the 1976 Olympic Gold medal for permanent display at the college.

Congratulations Nick Marchak and thank you for Red River College for honoring his accomplishment of putting home grown Canadian Chefs on world culinary stage.

Wine Education in March

The March meeting of the CCFCC Winnipeg Branch was held at Red River College Notre Dame Campus in the Prairie Lights Dining room. The meeting featured a discussion on the state of world wine markets my Mo Razik of the Manitoba Independent Wine Merchants. Chesses were provided by Fentons Gourmet Foods and  Saputo Cheese. Hot and Cold horsdouvres were provided by Red River College. We were introduced to an array of fine Canadian Wines produced by Pellee Island Winery  and  their representative, Jennifer Pollock .  Special thanks to Chef Jon Royal and Chef Jeff Gill at Red River College.

Awards Gala 2018 Moments

Chef of the year , Jesse Friesen of Pizzeria Gusto

Platinum Sponsors Sysco bring the best.

Appetizer actions stations by our future stars.

Selkirk Regional Secondary School appetizers rocked.

Casinos of Winnipeg helps celebrate.

Holiday Inn South, Chef Eldon

Culinary students join the festivities.

Longtime associates the Gunn brothers of Gunn’s Bakery.

Our friends from Pratt’s

Convention centre dignitaries

Associate of the year Herman Grauer of Natures Farm.

Junior Chef of the year , Christy Barkman and mentor Michael Fitzhenry CCC Red River Colllege

Gold Sponsor Mariner Neptune Seafood

Gala wine host and sponsor, Mo Razik

The CCFCC Winnipeg Branch celebrated over fifty years of culinary excellence with this years recipients of recognition for their contribution to the vibrant Winnipeg food scene. This year Chef of the year was awarded to Jesse Friesen of Pizzeria Gusto. Associate of the year was awarded to Herman Grauer of Natures Farm. Junior Chef of the year was presented to Christy Barkman.

National Awards CCFCC Convention

Congratulations to Chef Raymond Czayka for his Lifetime Achievement Award presented at this years CCFCC  National Convention this May in Windsor Ontario.

Congratulations to Chef Brian Humniski who received the National Branch Communication Award  also presented at the convention.


Gala 2016 (1) - 38 of 60Bios: Brian Humniski

Pages: 1 2